Home > Uncategorized > What I’m working on…

What I’m working on…

September 4, 2007

I’ve always wanted to use my blog to track more of the work that I’m doing. In this new role, I think it’s a lot easier to do this because I don’t need to worry quite so much about the kind of confidential details you need to watch when you’re working on a product.

In a way, this is a note to myself, mostly becasue I seem to be able to find my own stuff more easily on my blog than through just about any other system I have.

 Since this is a new job, the first thing I need to do is to at least loosly define a plan that gives me an idea of where I want to go with it.

My favorite Picasso quote is, "You have to have an idea of what you are going to do, but it should be a vague idea."

The plan will probably take the form of  a SharePoint Wiki that I’ll keep on an internal site at work. In that plan I’ll include an initial list of multimedia pieces and interviews that I want to do, presentations I want to build, and details for hosting and posting the stories I create on the web. So building that out is one of my first goals.

My second task is to build out my travel plans for the next few months, with the big events listed out for the next year. So far on my schedule:

There will be more, but that’s on my list for now. I’ll put this into a list on my Spaces site. If you want to meet up with me at any of the linked events, drop me a note at brianjo@microsoft.com.

Third goal: Building out my home office for use as a prodution studio. I’ve always wanted to do this and I got a pretty good start on it this weekend. I’m hoping to build a mini Microsoft Home up in the loft and I’m going to use that to show how to connect technologies like Vista, Xbox 360, and Zune, along with anything else I can add to the system. (It should also make for an excellent place to play some Halo 3.)

That’s the plan for now.  Drop me a note if you have any ideas or suggestions.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Rik
    September 5, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    When I grow up, I want to be just like you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
