Home > Computers and Internet > Corporate blogging works…

Corporate blogging works…

June 17, 2007

Posts like this one from Dell make me think that communicating frankly with customers is the best way to handle any situation.

Dell’s 23 Confessions

Now’s not the time to mince words, so let me just say it… we blew it.

I’m referring to a recent blog post from an ex-Dell kiosk employee that received more attention after the Consumerist blogged about it, and even more still after we asked them to remove it.

Without even thinking about it, I read that post and it made me glad that I’ve spent so much money with Dell over the years. 🙂

via Techmeme

Technorati Tags: ,

  1. Brian
    June 18, 2007 at 11:08 pm

    Well, I consider that one a personal blog. I know a lot of people think of these as corp blogs, and I understand that thinking, though I don’t agree with it. I think individuals have the right to do anything they want with their personal blogs. I think the best way to comment on such things is really to do so from your own blog, then nobody can take it down but you. :)  If trackbacks were better on Spaces, I would probably shut off comments here also. Not because I don’t like comments, I just prefer trackbacks so I can find out more about the people who comment on my blog.

  2. Unknown
    June 19, 2007 at 12:49 am

    Originally I thought it was a corporate blog because the hostname is blogs.msdn.com, it carries the usual Microsoft disclaimers, and originally it really looked like it was spouting the official Microsoft line.  Users blame Microsoft, Microsoft blames users, etc.  It took a long time before I understood that it’s really a personal blog.  I’ve apologized before and don’t mind apologizing again for the length of time that it took me to understand that it’s really a personal blog.
     
    Yes on a personal blog the owner has the right to censor posts about the stated topic, disprove the owner’s assertion of a 2-week commenting period, etc.  That’s not in dispute.  I only tried to point out that I agree with your opinion "communicating frankly with customers is the best way to handle any situation", and it’s sad to see that you’re alone.
     
    rwx—rwx

  3. Unknown
    June 19, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    appreciate the positive feedback on our corporate blogging…and thank you for being a customer.  Glad we made you proud on this one :-)

  4. Unknown
    June 19, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    that no name comments should have shown up as richardatDELL

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
