Home > Uncategorized > The Epic Tale of Ivanhoe the Cat

The Epic Tale of Ivanhoe the Cat

May 11, 2006

I love this story from DIY Planner. It’s short, but pretty funny.

The Epic Tale of Ivanhoe the Cat:

Submitted by dougj on Mon, 2006-04-24 17:53.

Fresh out of university a decade or so ago, I was fresh-faced and eager to explore the seemingly limitless opportunities afforded to me through my career choice as a high school English teacher. Unfortunately, I soon learned that such jobs were exceedingly rare in my province (even more so nowadays), and so it was with a great sense of surprise that I landed a half-time position in a community about an hour outside of town. Of course, I seized upon the opportunity, but found myself in dire straights immediately. I was now expected to find lodgings I could afford, which worked out to a mere three hundred a month after a minimal grocery and utility budget was extracted from my meagre paycheque.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Unknown
    May 12, 2006 at 12:23 am

    Such jobs aren’t rare in my province, though salaries are a lot lower than they used to be.  One would expect the employer to help find lodgings and the rent would only be around 40% of the salary.
     
    On the other hand, if English is being taught directly by the cat, one would expect the salary to be somewhat higher.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
